Sign in to follow this  
CJW

How much of a guarantee does a guarantee fare offer?

Hi,

I'm new to the forum. I've seen a few of the emails from Bolsover in the past but haven't got around to joining till today. I've been cruising for a few years now and sailed with P&O and Princess but what made me join was to ask people about guarantee cabins? Has anyone done this? I seem to hear it talked about more and more lately. I've looked at a few cruises for this year and I'm always hit with "that's on a guarantee basis". It's been explained to me a few times but I just wanted to get more opinions on it.

What exactly does it guarantee and how likely are you to get an upgrade? Does it impact your dining choice? What happens if you're travelling as a group?

I'm looking to travel with my family this time around. It will be their first cruise so I want to make sure we book something they will enjoy and not run into any problems. We want to try and be near to each other but seeing as I am paying for us all to go away (what was I thinking?!), I'm conscious of spend, so if a guarantee deal is worth considering, I will, as it will save me a substantial amount.

I'd appreciate any feedback...thanks in advance.

Hi CJW

First, welcome to the forum - I hope you find it informative!

Secondly, with regards to your question of 'guarantee' - this depends entirely on a) which cruise line you are looking at and b ) what type of offer.

Generally speaking, you are guaranteeing yourself a 'minimum' cabin type, rather than a particular grade of cabin.  When you go on a guarantee offer generally speaking you are open to receive any cabin type above & beyond the minimum 'type' you have booked.