Sign in to follow this  
The Drunken Sailor

Was P&O better before Carnival took over?

P&O was taken over by Carnival in 2003. I started cruising with P&O in 2004. So I have no before and after experience to draw upon.

I believe anyone who can make the comparison will be comparing chalk and cheese.

RayO

Hi  There is no right or wrong answer to this question, it all depends upon what you expect from a cruise.   Without doubt the cost of undertaking a cruise has fallen significantly since Carnival took over from P&O and I doubt whether P&O would have invested heavily in modern new build vessels.  On the downside the quality of the product has declined.  If the major factor for choosing a cruise is the ports visited these have not changed greatly but the large vessels cannot access smaller ports meaning that itineraries are less varied.  So in conclusion it depends what you consider more important a cheap mass market voyage or a more refined experience.   On a personal level I no longer sail with P&O, I prefer an more refined imitate cruise experience and this company no longer caters for my tastes.

Edited by Land Ahoy

I agree with the comments above, opinions will differ greatly and it all depends on when the people answering the question started cruising with P&O Cruises. As OWT has mentioned those who are new to P&O will know nothing different and may love them (or some may hate), and those who are devout followers may say that P&O have gone downhill. There's no right or wrong answer as everyone expects something different from their cruise and you have to take some things with a pinch of salt and just make your own opinion.

Have you cruised with P&O Cruises before The Drunken Sailor? Would be great to hear your thoughts if you have.

4 hours ago, Oldworldtraveller said:

The answers you receive to this question will very much depend on whom it is addressed to. The devout followers will say it has declined whilst people new to P&O will know nothing different.