harley1

charging for towels!

The charging for non-returned pool towels has been going on with Royal for some years hence the reason you present your key card when collecting and returning. It hasn't stopped the reservation of sun beds simply because if you return the towels on the last day of the cruise that cancels out any charge.

3 hours ago, Oldworldtraveller said:

If passengers take home bath robes, fruit bowls, tv remotes etc why not towels.

Is that why the bath robes etc are removed on the last evening? I always thought it was because they wanted to prepare for the next cruise. Surely if someone took a bathrobe, P&O or whoever would know who'd taken it and perhaps send them a bill? Unbelievable to think people would do that.:rolleyes:

Many years ago I used to work in the hotel industry,  you would be surprised at what used to disappear. We had one room where the curtains and cushions were taken, if you didn't see them being taken you can't  prove it was the guest that had been in that room.

Princess did this with the blankets they give out in the evening for the moive nights- i'm sure they said we had to given them back or it would be charged to our cabin...

So  it wouldn't surpirse me if other lines started charging for towels not being returned.

On ‎7‎/‎21‎/‎2017 at 11:27 AM, Oldworldtraveller said:

If passengers take home bath robes, fruit bowls, tv remotes etc why not towels.

Ha ha, and make the rest of us who leave things alone pay for in our fares. I cannot fathom folks who do that type of stealing ...  Sure, we have taken a paper coaster and requested the drink menu on the last day :)

14 hours ago, Mermaid Jessica said:

Princess did this with the blankets they give out in the evening for the moive nights- i'm sure they said we had to given them back or it would be charged to our cabin...

So  it wouldn't surpirse me if other lines started charging for towels not being returned.